1300 is considered the approximate time of arrival of the third migration from Hawaiki. It is to the waka of this period that Māori today trace their whakapapa and iwi. The Tainui, Te Arawa, Mataatua, Kurahaupo, Tokomaru, Aotea and Takitimu are the seven most famous to arrive at this time.

Tainui and Te Arawa both arrived on the east coast of Aotearoa at Whangaparaoa. After a dispute about who arrived first, Hoturoa took Tainui and his people and sailed up the coast to Waitemata, then hauled the waka across the dividing land to Manukau on the west coast. Some members of the crew settled at Waitemata and their descend¬ants spread south. Hoturoa then sailed down the coast to Whaingaroa (Raglan), Kawhia and Mokau.

Meanwhile the members of the Te Arawa crew spread inland quickly from the east coast. Ngatoroirangi, the tohunga of the Te Arawa, discovered, explored and named the mountains of the central plateau. Ihenga discovered and settled the Rotorua lake district, while Tamatakapua the commander of Te Arawa settled the area between Maketu and Rotorua. Their descendants spread inland to the Waikato and King Country.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *